The House on the Cliff, by Franklin W. Dixon

The House on the Cliff is the second in Franklin W. Dixon’s “Hardy Boys” series, although if you haven’t read the first book in the series, you will still enjoy it.

Frank and Joe Hardy are told by their father, world famous detective Fenton Hardy, that he is working on a top secret case involving smugglers, and that the two boys can help by keeping watch on the ships around Bayport, where the Hardys live.

Using their father’s telescope, Frank, Joe and their friends Chet Morton and Biff Hooper keep watch on the ships around Bayport. When they are on their way home, they spot a boat chasing another one and stop to take a look.  When the pursuing boat catches up, the friends see a grenade being threw at the other boat!  They rescue the man driving the boat, who had escaped just in time.  Shortly after this their father Fenton disappears!  Frank and Joe decide to investigate.

Who were the people that threw the grenade and who did they throw it at?  More importantly, will Frank and Joe find their father in time?

You can buy the book here…House on the Cliff


The Children of Willow Farm, by Enid Blyton

The sequel to The Children of Cherry Tree Farm,The Children of Willow Farm, is the second book in Enid Blyton’s Farm Series.

Rory, Sheila, Benjy and Peggy, the four children from The Children of Cherry Tree Farm, are now at Willow Farm, the farm that their father bought after seeing how healthy and happy the children were at Cherry Tree Farm.

Unlike in The Children of Cherry Tree Farm, The Children of Willow Farm’s focus is not on British wildlife, but on farming.  As Willow Farm isn’t far from Cherry Tree Farm, Rory, Sheila, Benjy and Peggy can still visit their friend, Tammylan, and as usual, he teaches them all kinds of interesting things about the countryside, its wildlife and farming.  Willow Farm soon has chickens, pigs, cows, sheep and horses, and the children help making butter, making hay and lots more.

The Children of Willow Farm is a wonderfully written, enjoyable book that anyone who likes farming will probably enjoy!

Buy your own copy here…The Children of Willow Farm


The Children of Cherry Tree Farm, by Enid Blyton

The Children of Cherry Tree Farm is the first in a series of three books, the Farm Series, written by Enid Blyton.

This book, like the other ones in the series, is about Rory, Sheila, Benjy and Penny, and their life on Cherry Tree Farm, their Uncle Tim’s farm (although in the other two books in the series they are at Willow Farm).

The four children had had the flu, measles and some of them got a bad cough so, on advice from the doctor, they are sent on a long holiday at Cherry Tree Farm.  At the farm, they have some adventures with the different animals there, but when they meet Tammylan, a man who lives in a cave or sometimes a tree house they have even more adventures!  Tammylan knows all about the different animals around the farm and has the strange gift of being able to make even the wildest animals come to him.They see grass snakes, smooth snakes, adders, otters, hares, squirrels, foxes, frogs, toads, a weasel, a stoat, voles, rabbits, moles and hedgehogs.

It is a really good book which anyone who likes animals should read!

Buy it here…Children of Cherry Tree Farm


Strike of the Shark, by Bear Grylls

Strike of the Shark is the sixth book in Bear Grylls’ Mission Survival series but if you haven’t read the previous books you will still enjoy it.

Beck Granger, the world’s youngest survival expert, is on a cruise ship travelling from the Everglades to Bermuda, stopping at Miami to pick up its passengers, where his job is giving talks on the ship about surviving in the wild.  Even before the ship reaches Miami, though, strange things begin to happen: the ship’s mainframe and electronics fail, the crew disappear and then an explosion makes the ship start to sink!

Strike of the Shark is a thrilling, exciting book and is probably one of my favourite ones.

Who set off the explosion and where are all the crew?                                      Can Beck Granger solve the mystery of the sabotage on the ship and survive until he is rescued?

Buy Strike of the Shark


Five on Kirrin Island Again, by Enid Blyton

This is the sixth book in the Famous Five series, which was written by Enid Blyton.  It begins with Julian, Dick, Anne, George (Georgina) and Timmy, her dog, at Kirrin for the Easter holidays. George’s father (Julian, Dick and Anne’s Uncle Quentin) has built a tower, for conducting his scientific experiments, on George’s island!  George (really called Georgina but, as she has always wanted to be a boy, everyone calls her George) is furious as her father didn’t even ask permission and it means that, for most of the Easter holidays, they can’t visit Kirrin Island.  Uncle Quentin needs to stay on Kirrin Island while he’s experimenting, so George’s mother (Aunt Fanny to Julian, Dick and Anne) gets Julian to make Uncle Quentin say he’ll signal at 10 o’clock every morning and evening, so that they’ll know he is all right.

One day, though, he signals more times than usual.  Everyone goes over to Kirrin Island  in George’s boat to find out what’s wrong.  They find out that Uncle Quentin signalled more times than usual because he suspects that someone is spying on him!  Uncle Quentin then asks George if he can borrow Timmy, just incase there is someone on the island, and she eventually says yes- on the condition that he’ll take Timmy up, at 10 o’clock each morning, to his tower when he is signalling.

One day, though, when George was looking through the coastguard’s telescope, at 10 o’clock, to make sure that Timmy was up in the tower, she can’t see him.  This worries George, and she decides to go over to Kirrin Island by herself without telling the others!

Five on Kirrin Island Again is an exciting mystery book and it’s packed with adventure.
What does George discover on Kirrin Island and who is the mysterious man that is so keen to find out about the island?

Buy the book to find out what happens…Five On Kirrin Island Again